CUC 100km Ultra Marathon

Summary of training for my first 100 kilometer distance Ultra Marathon on June 30, 2012.

Very low mileage for a 100 kilometer distance but it was the best I could do.  I had more training mileage when I ran my first 50 kilometer distance.

With only 2 months of “uninterrupted” training, I’m going into this race severely undertrained, didn’t do any back-to-back long runs because I might strain my muscles and tendons.  As they say, better to be undertrained than overtrained.  I had to make sure I’ll be at the starting line healthy and without injuries.

On this week of the race despite the busy work schedule, I’ll try to relax as much as possible and hydrate well.

My fuel to go the distance would be the encouragements and motivations from friends and family.  It is now at full-tank.  Thank you guys, I really appreciate it.

On the race itself, my plan is simple (I hope it will work);

  1. Run 2 kilometers at easy pace.
  2. Have a 2 minute walkbreak at each of these intervals.
  3. Drink and have a bite to eat during each walkbreak.
  4. Do steps 1-3 fifty times.

The 100 kilometer distance is one of my goals and I want this so bad.  Nothing short of life-threatening injuries or medical conditions will stop me from completing it.  Mentally, my mind is ready to accept it if I have to walk 40 kilometers or more if(or “when”) I don’t have anything left for running/jogging.

Looking forward to this race and running with all my friends, whatever the result, I’m sure it will be a day of good times and memories that I will remember for the rest of my life 🙂

To the organizers of the race – the doctors, lawyers, media personalities, teachers, business executives, ordinary working people with the usual work obligations and families to look after, I salute you.  You have worked on this race without so much as a whimper or complaint on how much you have sacrificed just to be able to provide the participants an ultra experience.  Little is known of your selfless acts but I’ve personally witnessed your passion for this sport and I draw inspiration from you guys every day to be the best that I can be.  Thank you and more power to you 🙂

One thought on “CUC 100km Ultra Marathon

Leave a Reply

